The SABRENet fibre network

The SABRENet optical fibre network extends over 200km through metropolitan Adelaide.


SABRENet Ltd is a non-profit company limited by guarantee formed in 2005 by its members:

in addition, the Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG) is a contractual participant in SABRENet Ltd.

Board of Directors

SABRENet Ltd is governed by its Board of Directors.

Paul Sherlock BE, MBA, GAICD (Chair)

Paul is the Chief Information Officer for the University of South Australia. He is responsible for the delivery of a wide range of ICT and Library services across the University which support the key business functions of teaching and learning, research and consultancy and administration. Paul has previously held senior IT management roles at the Defence Science and Technology Organisation and BHP Steel International. Paul is a former President of the Council of Australian University Directors of Information Technology (CAUDIT) Incorporated and the Australian Access Federation (AAF) Incorporated.

Paul has completed a Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) and an Associate Diploma in Computing at the former South Australian Institute of Technology (now UniSA).  He has obtained a Master of Business Administration at the University of Adelaide, a Manager’s Certificate in IT Service Management at the British Computer Society, and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment at the Securities Institute and a Graduate Directors Course Diploma at the Australian Institute of Company Directors.  Paul is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Paul is the Chair of SABRENet Ltd and was appointed to the Board by the University of South Australia when SABRENet was formed in September 2005.

Beverley McQuade

As Chief Information Officer of the University of Adelaide, Beverley McQuade holds responsibility for technology systems and services for a leading research university. Prior to joining the University of Adelaide, Beverley was Chief Information Officer at SA Water for the past eight years, where she managed IT (CIO), developed its IT strategy and has driven the modernisation of SA Water’s IT infrastructure and support functions.

Ms McQuade has over 25 years’ experience in strategic change primarily in financial services and utilities businesses.  She has also performed similar roles in Health, Life and General Insurance Businesses. Her focus has been strategic change, incorporating people, processes and technology and delivering great customer experiences.

Beverley was appointed to the Board by the University of Adelaide in March 2017.

Andrew Dunbar PhD, BSc, GAICD

Andrew is the Director of the Office of Science, Technology and Research (OSTAR) with the Department of State Development, responsible for leading the development and implementation of the South Australian Government’s science, technology and research strategy to support innovation and economic development.  Andrew has more than 17 years’ experience working in the life sciences (biotech and pharma) industry both in Australia and Europe.

Previous roles have included Director, Business and Corporate Development at Mayne Pharma Group and Senior Manager, Corporate Business Development and Acquisitions at Novozymes A/S, based in Denmark.  He has also held a variety of business development and scientific leadership roles at GroPep Ltd, Bionomics Ltd and CSIRO.  Andrew has a PhD in molecular biology/biochemistry from Flinders University, and is also a Board Director and Vice President of the Childhood Cancer Association.

Andrew was appointed to the Board by the SA Government in November 2014.

Bruce Linn BSc, FAICD, FACS

Formerly CEO of Finlaysons Lawyers, Bruce's previous executive roles include CE for EDS (now HP Enterprise Services), responsible for all State Government business of EDS in Australia and CEO of Camtech, one of Australia's leading internet and electronic payments technology innovators. He is a technologist and futurist with over 35 years’ experience in strategy, governance, leadership, business management and commercialisation of a broad range of technologies including IT, telecommunications, Internet and social media.

Bruce is a Science graduate of the University of Adelaide.  He is Immediate Past President of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (SA/NT Division); his current Directorships include SABRENet Limited, UniSA Ventures Pty Ltd (previously ITEK Ventures Pty Ltd) and SA Heart Centres Pty Ltd.  He is Chairman of Anglicare SA Ltd, eResearch SA Ltd and IPMO Pty Ltd.  He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and the Australian Computer Society.

Bruce was appointed to the SABRENet Board as an independent Director at the 2007 AGM and re-appointed in 2009, 2012 and 2014.

Ian Smith, BSc, BE, FGLF

Ian is the Director, Information Technology Services at Flinders University, where he leads transformational change for professional support service delivery across Flinders University. Ian has more than 35 years’ experience leading technology projects in a range of both public and private organisations, including Origin, Telstra and the South Australian Government.  Prior to leading Information Technology Services at Flinders University, Ian’s work enabled new ways of doing business in mining, media, defence, government, agriculture, and the energy industry.

Ian Smith has broad experience in new technology and business change. Previous roles have included Group Manager, IT Solutions and Projects at Origin Energy Ltd, Chief Information Officer at ABB Grain Ltd, Executive Manager, Corporate Marketing and eCommerce at AusBulk Ltd, Deputy Director and Senior Policy Advisor, Information Economy Policy Office for the South Australian Government. Ian is qualified in engineering and science, and holds a Bachelor of Science and a Bachelor of Engineering (University of Adelaide).

Ian was appointed to the Board by Flinders University in December 2015.